Reader Submission: Dancing Partner

18 Sep

Today’s post comes from an associate working late:

“I was working with one the younger partners at the firm.  It was pretty late at night, but he still knew I was there and was working on his stuff.  I had finished what I was working on so I went up to check with him to see if I could leave.  His door was always open, so I just walked in.  When I did, I saw him dancing behind his desk.  He was all about it – almost skanking.  He saw me and just STOPPED.  There was a short awkward pause and then I asked him if I could leave.  He looked soooo embarrassed and instantly said yes.  Maybe I should have just called, lol.”

For those of you who don’t know, this is skanking.

Here is the thing – being a lawyer is tough.  Long hours, lots of stress, etc etc.  Partners work hard (sometimes) and when the shit hits the fan, it’s all on them.  So some partner needs to release some steam by dancing- that’s cool.  Just make sure you tell your associates so you don’t get caught in an embarrassing situation.  Otherwise, make sure you explain that, you what?  sometimes, you gotta dance:

Leave a comment